Universal Edition - Gilbert Kaplan – Symphony No. 2

Gilbert Kaplan

Gilbert Kaplan
Symphony No. 2

Key: C minor
Year of composition: 1888-1894
Year of arrangement: 2013
Additional Name: "Auferstehungssymphonie"
Subtitle: in 5 movements
Version: reduced version for small orchestra (Kaplan/Mathes)
Scored for: for soli, mixed choir and small orchestra
Composer: Gustav Mahler
Arranger: Gilbert Kaplan; Rob Mathes
Choir: gemischter Chor (SATB)
Soloists: soprano, alto
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 3 3 2 1 - timp, perc, hp, org, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+1stpicc)
2nd flute (+2ndpicc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F (+tpt(C))
1st trombone
2nd trombone
contrabass tuba
violin I
violin II
double bass
Table of Contents:
1. Satz: Allegro maestoso. Mit durchaus ernstem und feierlichem Ausdruck
2. Satz: Andante comodo. Sehr gemächlich. Nie eilen
3. Satz: In ruhig fließender Bewegung
4. Satz: Urlicht - Sehr feierlich aber schlicht. Nicht schleppen
5. Satz: Im Tempo des Scherzos. Wild herausfahrend - Wieder zurückhaltend - Langsam. Misterioso
Duration: 80′
Please check your input!

  • Mahler Gustav | Arr.: Gilbert Kaplan; Rob Mathes

  • Symphony No. 2

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Konzerthaus Wien / Austria
Date: 17.02.2013
Orchestra: Wiener Kammerorchester
Choir: Wiener Singakademie
Conductor: Gilbert Kaplan
Main Soloists: Marlis Petersen, S; Janina Baechle, MS

score - Symphony No. 2

Symphony No. 2
  • for soli, mixed choir and small orchestra
  • Edition type: score

Future Performances

Location: Centre Cultural Terrassa, Terrassa (E), Orchestra: Orquesta Simfonica del Valles, Conductor: Víctor Pablo Pérez

Location: Palau de la Musica Catalana, Barcelona (E), Orchestra: Orquesta Simfonica del Valles, Conductor: Víctor Pablo Pérez

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.