Universal Edition - Karol Szymanowski – 3. Symphonie

Karol Szymanowski

Karol Szymanowski
3. Symphonie

Key: Bb major
Opus: op. 27
Year of composition: 1914-1916
Subtitle: Das Lied von der Nacht
Scored for: for tenor, mixed choir ad lib and orchestra
Composer: Karol Szymanowski
Text Author: Mawlana Dschalal-ad-din Rumi
Translator: Hans Bethge; Ann Czerniawska; Adam Czerniawski
Choir: SATB
Soloists: Tenor
Instrumentation: 4 4 5 4 - 6 4 4 1 - perc, pno, hp(2), cel, org, str
Instrumentation details:
1. flute
2. flute
3. flute
1. oboe
2. oboe
3. oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
1. clarinet in B
2. clarinet in B
3. clarinet in B
bass clarinet in B
1. bassoon
2. bassoon
3. bassoon
1. horn in F
2. horn in F
3. horn in F
4. horn in F
5. horn in F
6. horn in F
1. trumpet in B
2. trumpet in B
3. trumpet in B
4. trumpet in B
1. trombone
2. trombone
3. trombone
4. trombone
1. harp
2. harp
violin I
violin II
Duration: 24′
Please check your input!

  • Szymanowski Karol

  • 3. Symphonie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

3. Symphonie, B-Dur, op. 27

World Première

Location: London / Great Britain
Date: 26.11.1921
Orchestra: London SO
Conductor: Albert Coates

Work Introduction

Szymanowski based his 3rd Symphony on the eponymous poem by the Persian author and mystic Jalal ad-Din ar-Rumi; perhaps one should read it before listening to the music. Even if not, it is clear that Szymanowski wondrously succeeded in setting the poem’s mysterious, sensuous, exotic atmosphere to music.

“Truth’s luminous wings satiate this night! Sleep not, my consort!” The tenor joins with a chorus which often sings only vocalises, while the violin repeatedly takes the lead in the orchestra.

Symphony No. 3 op. 27 on

Study score – Symphony No. 3

  • for tenor, choir SATB ad lib. and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • Language: German; English; Polish
  • UE35569
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7153-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08484-3
EUR 41,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Download – Symphony No. 3

  • Edition type: download
  • Edition info: PDF download
  • UED3556900
EUR 39,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

3. Symphonie

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.