Universal Edition - Alban Berg – 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

Alban Berg

Alban Berg
3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

Year of composition: 1926
Subtitle: aus der „Lyrischen Suite“
Scored for: for string orchestra
Composer: Alban Berg
Arranger: Theo Verbey
Instrumentation details:

Table of Contents:
Berg, Alban: Allegretto gioviale
Allegretto gioviale

Berg, Alban: Presto delirando (Tenebroso)
Berg, Alban: Largo desolato
Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • Berg Alban | Arr.: Theo Verbey

  • 3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Lyrische Suite

World Première

Location: Stadsgehoorzaal Leiden / Netherlands
Date: 02.02.2006
Orchestra: Amsterdam Sinfonietta
Conductor: Christoph Poppen
Main Soloists: Renate Arends, Sopran

Work Introduction

Alban Berg arranged Three Pieces (I, III and IV) from the Lyric Suite (originally for string quartet) for string orchestra in 1927. My arrangement of the three remaining movements (I, V and VI) means it is now possible to perform the complete Lyric Suite for string orchestra as part of a larger concert programme. In orchestrating it, I have kept as close as possible to Berg’s style.

From previous experience (my adaptation of the Sonate op 1 for piano [1908] for orchestra of 1984), I know  that the enormous intensity of the music asks for a great diversity of ideas regarding texture and individual part writing. On a more basic, technical level this means that the double stops in the quartet version are usually replaced by solo/tutti-divisi or ordinary divisions. The adding of the double bass line often has consequences for the other parts.

These “six rather short movements of a lyrical rather than symphonic character” (as Berg called it) are easier to perform with larger groups than with a string quartet. The piece is enhanced by the richness of sound and clarification of structure.

Theo Verbey

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

3 Stücke (Nr. 1, 5, 6)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.