Universal Edition - Alban Berg – 3 Pieces for Orchestra

Alban Berg

Alban Berg
3 Pieces for Orchestra

Opus: op. 6
Year of composition: 1914/1929
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Alban Berg
Instrumentation: 4 4 5 4 - 6 4 4 1 - timp(2), perc(4), hp(2), cel, str
Instrumentation details:
1. flute (+picc.)
2. flute (+picc.)
3. flute (+picc.)
4. flute (+picc.)
1. oboe
2. oboe
3. oboe
4. oboe (+c.a.)
1. clarinet in A
2. clarinet in A
3. clarinet in A (+clarinet in Eb)
4. clarinet in A
bass clarinet in B
1. bassoon
2. bassoon
3. bassoon
1. horn in F
2. horn in F
3. horn in F
4. horn in F
5. horn in F
6. horn in F
1. trumpet in F
2. trumpet in F
3. trumpet in F
4. trumpet in F
1. trombone
2. trombone
contrabass tuba
timpani (2)
perc (4)
1. harp
2. harp
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Duration: 19′
Dedication: Arnold Schönberg zum 40. Geburtstag
Please check your input!

  • Berg Alban

  • 3 Pieces for Orchestra

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

3 Orchesterstücke, op. 6

World Première

Location: Oldenburg / Germany
Date: 14.04.1930
Conductor: Johannes Schüler

Work Introduction

The Three Pieces mark a turning point in Berg’s work; after composing Lieder in particular until then, he began to think of writing “something large” after completing his studies. This idea was preceded by a contention with his teacher Arnold Schönberg, who was dissatisfied with his pupil’s artistic development in the Altenberg lieder and the clarinet pieces and wanted “character pieces” from him instead. Berg initially thought of a suite or a symphony but eventually decided on a purely orchestral piece in the summer of 1914. He began working on it in Trahütten, Styria on his parents-in-law’s country estate and completed the full score on 23 August 1914.

Berg dedicated it “to my teacher and friend Arnold Schönberg with immeasurable gratitude and love,” as the score states. He mailed it to Schönberg in Berlin as a 40th birthday gift, enclosing a letter: “I have truly striven to give my best, to follow all your incentives and suggestions, whereby the unforgettable, yea revolutionising experiences of the Amsterdam rehearsals and thorough study of your orchestra pieces [Op. 16] served me boundlessly and sharpened my self-criticism more and more.”

The first two of the three pieces were premiered on 5 June 1923 during an “Austrian Music Week” in Berlin, conducted by Anton Webern. The first performance of the complete work (which requires enormous orchestral forces) was not given until 14 April 1930, after Berg had reworked it, in Oldenburg; his friend and pupil Johannes Schüler was the conductor.

Pocket score – Three Orchestral Pieces

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: pocket score
  • Series: Philharmonia Pocket Scores
  • PH432
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2303-2
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-01923-4
EUR 32,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

piano reduction - 3 Pieces for Orchestra

3 Pieces for Orchestra
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: piano reduction

full score - 3 Pieces for Orchestra

3 Pieces for Orchestra
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

Location: Lotte Concert Hall, Seoul (ROK), Orchestra: Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Thierry Fischer

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.