Universal Edition - Arvo Pärt – Passacaglia

Arvo Pärt

Arvo Pärt

Year of composition: 2003/2007
Scored for: for 1 or 2 violins, vibraphone (ad lib.) and string orchestra
Composer: Arvo Pärt
Soloists: violin (or 2 violins)
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 5′
Dedication: Dedicated to Gidon Kremer on the occasion of his birthday.
Please check your input!

  • Pärt Arvo

  • Passacaglia

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Ludwigskirche Saarbrücken / Germany
Date: 04.06.2007
Orchestra: Kremerata Baltica
Conductor: Gidon Kremer
Main Soloists: Gidon Kremer, vln

Work Introduction

Passacaglia for violin and piano was written in 2003 as a commission by the Hannover International Violin Competition. In honour of Gidon Kremer’s 60th Birthday in 2007, Arvo Pärt arranged the work for 1 or 2 violins, vibraphone (ad lib.) and string orchestra.

Selected editions are available on sale on request.


Future Performances

Location: Sheldonian Theatre, Oxford (GB), Orchestra: Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Marios Papadopoulos

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.