Universal Edition - Franz Schreker – Irrelohe

Franz Schreker

Franz Schreker

Year of composition: 1919-1922
Subtitle: Opera in 3 acts
Composer: Franz Schreker
Librettist: Franz Schreker
Original Language: Deutsch
Parts: Graf Heinrich, tenor
Der Förster, bass
Eva, soprano
Die alte Lola, alto
Peter, baritone
Christobald, tenor
Der Pfarrer, bassbaritone
Der Müller, bass
Fünkchen, tenor
Strahlbusch, baritone
Ratzekahl, bass
Anselmus, bassbaritone
Ein Lakai, tenor
Die Mutter des Grafen / dessen Schwester / der Bürgermeister / der Lehrer / der Schreiber / ein Mädchen / Bauern / Volk aller Art / Lakaien / junge Mädchen / Burschen / Kinder.
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 3 3 4 3 - 6 4 3 1 - timp(2–3), perc(9), hp(2), cel, cemb, guit, mand, str(16 14 12 10 8) - on stage: picc(2), cl(2), hn(6(3)), tpt(3), perc(5), org
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais (+3rdob)
1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
3rd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb)
bass clarinet in Bb (+basset hn in F)
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st timpani
2nd timpani
3 high kettle drums
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I(16)
violin II(14)
contrabass(8) - on stage: 1st piccolo
2nd piccolo
1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
Scenery: 4
Duration: 165′
Dedication: Meiner lieben Frau Maria zugeeignet
Please check your input!

  • Schreker Franz

  • Irrelohe

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Stadttheater Köln / Germany
Date: 27.03.1924
Conductor: Otto Klemperer

Work Introduction

It is thanks to Vienna Volksoper director Rudolf Berger that first Austrian production of Franz Schreker's opera Irrelohe (premièred in Cologne in 1924) has been playing in Vienna since 16 October 2004 (dir.: Olivier Tambosi, c.: Dietfried Bernet). Schreker was among the most performed composers of his day. Banned by the Nazis, his music is now in the process of being rediscovered. And to rave reviews:

One could listen to these sounds until dizzy: opalescent, running into one another, seductive (Süddeutsche Zeitung, Gerhard Persché)

Illuminated sound-theatre … the music is of complex, abundantly dissonant and daring harmony, possessed of its own "grammar" between expressionism and the modern. (Salzburger Nachrichten, Heinz Rögl)

At last, Schreker! At last, "Irrelohe" … a wildly glowing elegy to expressionism which simultaneously throws the doors wide open to new territory (Wiener Zeitung, Edwin Baumgartner)

piano reduction - Irrelohe

  • Edition type: piano reduction

piano reduction - Irrelohe

  • Edition type: piano reduction

libretto - Irrelohe

  • Edition type: libretto
  • Language: German

score - Irrelohe

  • Edition type: score

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.