Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – Sayaka

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas

Year of composition: 2006
Scored for: for percussion and accordion
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 9′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Gläserne Manufaktur Dresden / Germany
Date: 29.09.2006
Main Soloists: Johannes Schulin, perc; Kai Wangler, acc

Work Introduction

I wrote this piece in 2006, just after the birth of my daughter. Sayaka is a Japanese word meaning “light” – yet not a brilliant, bright, luminous light, but rather a soft, affectionate, hopeful light.

Sayaka is my daughter’s middle name.

The music is closely related (in some parts identical) to the middle section of the first act of my opera Melancholia, in which Lars Hertervig tells of his encounter with Helene and the light which he was able to see in this encounter.

Georg Friedrich Haas

study score - Sayaka

  • for percussion and accordion
  • Edition type: study score

performing score - Sayaka

  • for percussion and accordion
  • Edition type: performing score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.