Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – Morgen und Abend

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas
Morgen und Abend

Year of composition: 2014/2015
Subtitle: Oper
Scored for: for soli, choir and orchestra
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Librettist: Jon Fosse
Translator: Hinrich Schmidt-Henkel
Parts: Olai (Schauspieler)
Die Hebamme* (Sopran)
Johannes (Bariton)
Erna (Alt)
Signe* (Sopran)
Peter (Tenor)

* Die Hebamme und Signe müssen von derselben Sängerin gesungen werden
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 2 2 1 - str, timp, perc(2), acc
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+1stpicc)
2nd flute (+2ndpicc)
3rd flute (+3rdpicc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais (+3rdob)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st percussion
2nd percussion
violin I (12 players)
violin II (10 players)
viola (8 players)
violoncello (8 players)
contrabass (6 players)
Commissioned by: Composition commission by the Royal Opera House, and Deutsche Oper Berlin with the support of the Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation
Duration: 90′
Please check your input!

  • Haas Georg Friedrich

  • Morgen und Abend

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Royal Opera House London / Great Britain
Date: 13.11.2015
Orchestra: Royal Opera House Orchestra
Choir: Royal Opera Chorus
Conductor: Michael Boder
Scenery: Graham Vick
Main Soloists: Olai, Klaus Maria Brandauer; Johannes, Christoph Pohl; Signe/Midwife, Sarah Wegener; Peter, Will Hartmann; Erna, Helena Rasker

Work Introduction

Georg Friedrich Haas in an interview on his opera Morgen und Abend.

Jon Fosse tells the story of Johannes the fisherman, a simple man in the autumn of his years. He recalls his past life, the two people who meant most to him – his wife and his friend Peter, who have both long since passed away. Johannes’ yearning will come to an end on this day. When his daughter comes to check on him the following morning, she finds him dead.


Not much happens, but Georg Friedrich Haas’s new opera is a mesmerising evocation of the great hereafter. (Fiona Maddocks, The Guardian, 22 November 2015)

[...] so conceptually unique and so unusual that its originality will confound many. (Anne Ozorio, Opera Today, 14 November 2015)

Although little or no change in dynamic happens throughout, the soundscapes are spectacularly eerie, casting quite a mood in the vast hall and filling the space with atmospheric emotion. It is incredible to see such a huge orchestra employed in such a way, each instrument being used in a more creative and unusual way to create these unfamiliar sounds. (Lydia Lakemoore, A Younger Theatre, 15 November 2015)

Brandauer has called the opera a Gesamtkunstwerk, a fitting description for its unified artistic vision, even if comparisons with Wagner (or any other opera composer) are beside the point. (Gavin Dixon, bachtrack, 14 November 2015)

The cumulative effect of words, music and our own thoughts, however, is extremely powerful and, although it is possible that some people may be left feeling cold by this opera, we were thoroughly engaged and moved to a remarkable degree. (Sam Smith, musicOHM, 15 November 2015)

But if you are susceptible to Haas's musical language it will creep under your skin as it did mine. (Mark Valencia, WhatsOnStage, 14 November 2015)

View the full conductor’s score

study score - Morgen und Abend

Morgen und Abend
  • for soli, choir and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

piano reduction - Morgen und Abend

Morgen und Abend
  • for soli, choir and orchestra
  • Edition type: piano reduction

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.