Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas
Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...

Year of composition: 1999
Scored for: for flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, violoncello
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Westdeutscher Rundfunk
Duration: 16′
Please check your input!

  • Haas Georg Friedrich

  • Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...

World Première

Location: Aula der Rudolf-Steiner-Schule Witten / Germany
Date: 25.04.1999
Orchestra: Ensemble Recherche
Conductor: Peter Hirsch

Work Introduction

For the composer, the work on the piece was a compositional challenge – for listeners, it is an aesthetic experience. Haas writes: “Nach-Ruf … ent-gleitend … is another of my involvements with the series of partials. Whereas, in earlier works, the pitch structure was determined by altering the instruments (untuned strings of the bowed instruments in the chamber opera Nacht and in String Quartet No. 1, retuning the piano in the improvisatory piece Nacht), microtonal intonation is left exclusively up to the players in Nach-Ruf … ent-gleitend …”

The uninterrupted flux of sound and the composer’s sonic imagination are fascinating for listeners; the six instruments play in various groupings or alone, constantly changing the Klangfarbe. Although the hyphen in the title reminds us that this is not an obituary(Nachruf), the impression still remains that it is a lament, especially at the outset; while the winds sustain pitches in the high register, the strings play melody fragments below which seem to cast forth a sadness, even threnody.

The melodies disappear in the course of the work (to return in altered form at the end); the aforementioned flux of iridescent, constantly intermingling sounds characterises the music.

study score - Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...

Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...
  • for flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, violoncello
  • Edition type: study score

score - Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...

Nach-Ruf ... ent-gleitend ...
  • for flute, oboe, clarinet, violin, viola, violoncello
  • Edition type: score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.