Universal Edition - Hanns Eisler – Die Maßnahme

Hanns Eisler

Hanns Eisler
Die Maßnahme

Opus: op. 20
Year of composition: 1930
Subtitle: Lehrstück von Bertolt Brecht in 8 Nummern
Scored for: for tenor 3 speakers, mixed choir and small orchestra
Composer: Hanns Eisler
Text Author: Bertolt Brecht
Translator: John Willit
Instrumentation details:
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in Bb
2nd trumpet in Bb
3rd trumpet in Bb
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st, 2nd timpani
Duration: 58′
Please check your input!

  • Eisler Hanns

  • Die Maßnahme

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Die Maßnahme, op. 20

World Première

Location: Philharmonie Berlin / Germany
Date: 13.12.1930
Choir: Berliner Arbeiterchor
Conductor: Karl Rankl
Main Soloists: A. M. Topitz, T; Helene Weigel, Ernst Busch, Alexander Granach - narrators

Work Introduction

Brecht used the words “[It] is an attempt to use a didactic play to cultivate a certain intervening attitude” to preface his play Die Maßnahme, which recounts the story of a task, an action taken involving various means and decisions.

Four agitators are debating their decision. Five of them had been assigned the task of supporting the Communist movement in China. The youngest of them had acted according to “his heart,” flouting laws and thereby endangering all of them and the assignment. With his consent, the other four killed the youngest one and threw his body into a lime-pit – thus also mutually agreeing to expunge any traces of suspicion. *

The piece ends with an argument about principles – how grossly one may breach fundamental moral tenets when combating oppression and exploitation.

This is another didactic work which Brecht modelled on Japanese Noh theatre. It was hotly controversial after its first performance in 1930; Brecht made a second version in 1932.

Due to possible misunderstandings of the play’s political orientation, Brecht forbade its performance; the prohibition was lifted for his 100th birthday in 1998.


* Excerpts from the programme booklet, Dresden State Playhouse, 2000/2001 season


Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Die Maßnahme

Future Performances

30.03.2017 - Schauspiel Leipzig
Location: Big Stage, Wien (A), Conductor: Marcus Crome

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
Express Airmail 3–6 working days EUR 14.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.