Universal Edition - Arvo Pärt – L'abbé Agathon

Arvo Pärt

Arvo Pärt
L'abbé Agathon

Year of composition: 2004/2005
Scored for: for soprano, 4 violas and 4 violoncellos
Composer: Arvo Pärt
Original Language: Französisch
Translator: Ellison Cori
Soloists: soprano
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • Pärt Arvo

  • L'abbé Agathon

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

L'abbé Agathon

World Première

Location: Stiftskirche Ossiach / Austria
Date: 10.07.2005
Orchestra: Camerata Salzburg
Conductor: Erwin Ortner
Main Soloists: Berit Barfred-Jensen, soprano

Work Introduction

Arvo Pärt came across a legend concerning the patriarch Agathon, from the 4th century, in a book containing stories of The Desert Fathers. They take us back to the cradle of Christian monasticism, in the Egyptian desert, the narrative telling of the meeting between the hermit Agathon and the leper. Agathon is tested several times by the leper. Not until after he has passed these tests does the leper reveal himself as an angel sent by God, and blesses Agathon.

Study score – L' abbé Agathon

The theme of L'abbé Agathon is related to the moving story of the leper house of Saint Lazarus, the oldest leper hospital in northern Europe.

  • for soprano, 4 violas and 4 cellos
  • Edition type: study score
  • Language: English; French
  • UE33004
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3230-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07827-9
EUR 25,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

piano reduction - L'abbé Agathon

L'abbé Agathon
  • for soprano, 4 violas and 4 violoncellos
  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: English; French

full score - L'abbé Agathon

L'abbé Agathon
  • for soprano, 4 violas and 4 violoncellos
  • Edition type: full score
  • Language: English; French

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.