Universal Edition - Cristóbal Halffter – Lázaro

Cristóbal Halffter

Cristóbal Halffter

Year of composition: 2004-2007
Subtitle: Opera
Composer: Cristóbal Halffter
Librettist: Juan Carlos Marset
Original Language: Spanisch
Parts: Lazarus, baritone
Judas, bass
Marta, soprano / mezzo-soprano
Maria, soprano
Simon / Kriegsknecht I, tenor
Johannes / Kriegsknecht II, high tenor
Andreas / Kriegsknecht III, bass
Jacob / Malco, low baritone
Instrumentation: 4 3 4 3 - 4 4 4 1 - perc(4), hp, pno/cel, synth, str(16 14 12 10 8 or 10 8 6 5 4)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
4th flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb
4th clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
4th trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
piano / celesta
violin I (1st desk)
violin I (2nd desk)
violin I (3rd, 4th desk)
violin I (5th, 6th desk)
violin I (7th, 8th desk)
violin II (1st desk)
violin II (2nd desk)
violin II (3rd, 4th desk)
violin II (5th–7th desk)
viola (1st desk)
viola (2nd desk)
viola (3rd, 4th desk)
viola (5th, 6th desk)
violoncello (1st desk)
violoncello (2nd, 3rd desk)
violoncello (4th, 5th desk)
contrabass (1st, 2nd desk)
contrabass (3rd, 4th desk)
Commissioned by: Kompositionsauftrag des Theater Kiel
Duration: 95–100'
Please check your input!

  • Halffter Cristóbal

  • Lázaro

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Oper Kiel Kiel / Germany
Date: 04.05.2008
Orchestra: Philharmonisches Orchester Kiel
Conductor: Georg Fritzsch
Scenery: Alexander Schulin
Main Soloists: Jörg Sabrowski - Lázaro; Julia Henning - María; Claudia Iten - Marta; Friedemann Kunder - Judas; Johannes An - Guardia 1 / Santiago; Steffen Doberauer - Guardia 2 / Juan; Matthias Klein - Guardia 3 / Andrés; Jooil Choi / Gavin Taylor - Malco / Simón

Work Introduction

Ever since the première of the reduced version of Don Quijote, opera lovers in Kiel have had a new favourite among the composers of our time: Cristóbal Halffter. The enthusiasm has resulted in a commission for a further opera, Lázaro, which had its eagerly awaited première on 4 May, conducted by Georg Fritzsch.

Halffter has divided the Biblical material into five scenes and filled it with life in a manner typical of his musical language. The opera revolves around life and death and tells of the (life) force which overcomes death. Despite its expansive scoring, in many places Lázaro has a chamber music character. The very lyrically written vocal parts are contrasted – as so often in Halffter’s case – with distorted quotations from ‘early’ music. The stage direction is by Alexander Schulin, as with Don Quijote.

libretto - Lázaro

  • Edition type: libretto

piano reduction - Lázaro

  • Edition type: piano reduction

study score - Lázaro

  • Edition type: study score

study score - Lázaro

  • Edition type: study score

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.