Universal Edition - Luciano Berio – Linea

Luciano Berio

Luciano Berio

Year of composition: 1973
Scored for: for 2 pianos, vibraphone and marimba
Composer: Luciano Berio
Instrumentation details:
Duration: 15′
Dedication: a Vittoria Ottolenghi
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Grenoble / France
Date: 08.02.1974
Main Soloists: Katja und Marielle Labèque, Jean-Pierre Drouet, Silvio Gualda

Work Introduction

Linea is the first work Berio composed expressly for dance – Felix Blaska was the choreographer for the first performance – but it certainly can be programmed as a purely musical piece. For long stretches, each of the two pianists plays one-handed, frequently unisono with the percussion instruments. But even when the pianists play four-hands and Berio uses chords, the music retains its delicacy, thanks to the composer’s preference for the high register. This is crystalline music – or music like icicles.

Translation © 2012 by Grant Chorley

Performing score – Linea

Ein virtuoses Stück, dessen Hauptthema sich auf die Töne Cis und E konzentriert und damit beim Hörer unweigerlich den Eindruck hervorruft, dass das Stück in cis-Moll und A-Dur stünde.

  • for 2 pianos, vibraphone and marimbaphone
  • Edition type: performing score
  • UE15991
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1737-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02693-5
EUR 54,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.