Universal Edition - Luciano Berio – Un re in ascolto

Luciano Berio

Luciano Berio
Un re in ascolto

Year of composition: 1979-1983
Subtitle: Azione musicale in 2 parti
Composer: Luciano Berio
Librettist: Italo Calvino
Original Language: Italienisch
Translator: Burkhart Kroeber
Parts: Prospero, bass-baritone
Regisseur, tenor
Freitag, actor
Protagonist, soprano
Soprano I and II
3 Singers: tenor, baritone, bass
some small parts
Choir: SATB
Soloinstruments/Soloists: soprano; mezzo-soprano; tenor; Bassbariton
Instrumentation: 3 3 4 3 - 3 3 3 1 - perc(2), acc, pno(2 players), t.sax, keyb, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
bass clarinet in Bb (+3rdcl(Bb))
tenor saxophone in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
piano on stage (2 players)
keyboard/celesta (1 player)
violin I
violin II
Scenery: 1
Duration: 90′
Dedication: A Margherita Kalmus
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Un re in ascolto

World Première

Location: Salzburg / Austria
Date: 07.08.1984
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Conductor: Lorin Maazel
Scenery: Götz Friedrich
Main Soloists: Theo Adam, Heinz Zednik, Helmut Lohner, Patricia Wise, Karan Armstrong, Sylvia Greenberg, Rohangiz Yachmi, Samy Molcho, Thomas Moser, Alfred Muff, Georg Tichy, Wildhaber, Gonda, Ionescu, Sima

Work Introduction

Un re in ascolto is not an opera; it is a phase in Berio’s long farewell to the genre. He describes it in a talk with himself as follows: “The story depicts the experiences of a king who attentively learned of the calamity building up all around him and who powerlessly witnessed the progressive disintegration of his kingdom and his might.”

The king bears the name Prospero; he is distantly related to the hero of Shakespeare’s last tragedy The Tempest. The music seems to be constantly at an emotional peak, the characters singing and crying out their desperation and loneliness into the world. Only at the end does the music become calmer, resigned and bereft of illusions.

  • Edition type: libretto
  • Language: German; Italian
  • UE17854
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2230-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07168-3
EUR 11,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Future Performances

Location: Staatstheater, Kassel (D), Conductor: Alexander Hannemann

Location: Staatstheater, Kassel (D), Conductor: Alexander Hannemann

Location: Staatstheater, Kassel (D), Conductor: Alexander Hannemann

Location: Staatstheater, Kassel (D), Conductor: Alexander Hannemann

Location: Staatstheater, Kassel (D), Conductor: Alexander Hannemann

show all preformances

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–2 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
Express Airmail 3–6 working days EUR 14.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95
Express Airmail 1–3 working days EUR 29.95