Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – Nacht

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas

Year of composition: 1995-1996/1998
Subtitle: Chamber opera in 24 scenes
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Text Source: after Friedrich Hölderlin (Hyperion, Empedokles, Oedipus, letters)
Librettist: Georg Friedrich Haas
Original Language: Deutsch
Parts: soprano, mezzo-soprano, tenor, baritone, bass, speaker
Instrumentation: 1 0 2 1 - 0 0 3 2 - perc(4), acc, vln, vln, vla, vc(4), cb(3)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc
alto fl
bass fl)
1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
bass cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
bass cl(Bb))
bassoon (+cbsn)
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
1st bass tuba
2nd bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
1st violin
2nd violin
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
3rd violoncello
4th violoncello
1st contrabass
2nd contrabass
3rd contrabass
Commissioned by: Bregenzer Festspiele
Duration: 75′
Dedication: Alfred Wopmann
Please check your input!

  • Haas Georg Friedrich

  • Nacht

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Blumeneggsaal Bregenz / Austria
Date: 07.08.1996
Orchestra: Klangforum Wien
Conductor: Peter Rundel
Main Soloists: Julie Moffat, S, Waltraut Mucher, MS, Helmut Wildhaber, T, Michael Volle, Bar, Johannes Schmidt, B, Matteo de Monti, voice
Remarks: semiszenische Aufführung inkl. Beleuchtungsplan und Sängerführung; Auftrag: Bregenzer Festspiele, Widmung: Alfred Wopmann

View the full score

score - Nacht

  • Edition type: score

score - Nacht

  • Edition type: score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.