Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – Natures mortes

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas
Natures mortes

Year of composition: 2003
Scored for: for large orchestra
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation: 3 3 4 3 - 4 3 4 1 - perc(4), hp, acc, pno, sax(2), str(10 8 8 8 6)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+picc)
2nd flute (+picc)
3rd flute (+picc
alto fl)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
3rd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb))
4th clarinet in Bb (
1st soprano saxophone in Bb (+bar.sax(Eb))
2nd soprano saxophone in Bb (+bar.sax(Eb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in Bb
2nd trumpet in Bb
3rd trumpet in Bb
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
contrabass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
violin I(10)
violin II(8)
Commissioned by: Ein Kompostitionsauftrag des Südwestrundfunks für die Donaueschinger Musiktage 2003.
Duration: 26′
Please check your input!

  • Haas Georg Friedrich

  • Natures mortes

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Natures mortes
Natures mortes

World Première

Location: Baar-Sporthalle Donaueschingen / Germany
Date: 19.10.2003
Orchestra: SWR-SO Baden-Baden und Freiburg
Conductor: Sylvain Cambreling

Work Introduction

Natures mortes was created in 2003 for the SWR Sinfonieorchester and for Sylvain Cambreling, in response to a commission of the Donaueschingen Festival; the piece lasts approximately 24 minutes.

The pieces is divided into three sections: a quasi-melodic, homophonic initial situation, in which the melodies each begin high and move continually into the depths, gives way to an opposite process featuring a 12-tone motif, which seems to spiral endlessly upward in overtone chords moving parallel to one another.

In the middle section, the orchestra pulses evenly in sixteenth notes, and the musical action dissolves into points on a grid; excerpts from overtone chords rub against tempered and percussive sounds.

The final section of the piece consists of long, sustained overtone chords. A phase of two overlapping overtone chords (producing clearly audible beats) is followed by phases in which each individual chord can unfold free of obstruction. This sequence of sounds gives rise to the illusion of a continuous ascent.

Common to all three sections is the treatment of conditions that repeat themselves in a spiral-like manner: the return of material is not intended as a reprise, but rather as the expression of an almost compulsive, practically unavoidable return to conditions thought to be long past.

Georg Friedrich Haas

study score - Natures mortes

Natures mortes
  • for large orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.