Universal Edition - Sir Harrison Birtwistle – The Second Mrs Kong

Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Sir Harrison Birtwistle
The Second Mrs Kong

Year of composition: 1993-1994
Subtitle: Opera in 2 acts
Composer: Sir Harrison Birtwistle
Librettist: Russell Hoban
Original Language: Englisch
Translator: Sven Hartberger
Parts: Kong, tenor
Perl, soprano
Anubis / Tod von Kong, bass-baritone
Vermeer, baritone
Spiegel / Spiegel Echo, lyric soprano
Inanna (Mrs Dollarama), mezzo-soprano
Mr Dollarama, baritone
Swami Zumzum, tenore buffo
Orpheus, countertenor
Madame Lena, alto
4 Modelle / Zweifel / Furcht / Verzweiflung / Schrecken, low mezzo-soprano, mezzo-soprano, soprano, high soprano
Eurydice, lyric soprano
Die Toten, choir
Der monströse Bote / Joe Shady, bass
Paganini, violin
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 0 2 - perc(4), acc, sax(2), cimb, str(16 0 6 6 4)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+alto fl
2nd flute (+picc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(Eb)
bass cl)
1st saxophone (sop.sax(Bb)
alto sax(Eb)
2nd saxophone (t.sax(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st tuba (+euph)
2nd tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
1st/2nd violin (desk 1)
3rd/4th violin (desk 2)
5th/6th violin (desk 3)
7th/8th violin (desk 4)
9th/10th violin (desk 5)
11th/12th violin (desk 6)
13th/14th violin (desk 7)
15th/16th violin (desk 8)
1st/2nd viola (desk 1)
3rd/4th viola (desk 2)
5th/6th viola (desk 3)
violoncello (desk 1)
violoncello (desk 2)
violoncello (desk 3)
contrabass (desk 1)
contrabass (desk 2)
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Glyndebourne Touring Opera
Duration: 120′
Please check your input!

  • Birtwistle Sir Harrison

  • The Second Mrs Kong

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Glyndebourne Opera Glyndebourne / Great Britain
Date: 24.10.1994
Orchestra: Glyndebourne Touring Opera Orchestra
Conductor: Elgar Howarth
Scenery: Tom Cairns
Main Soloists: Philip Landridge, Helen Field, Michael Chance, Steven Page, Omar Ebrahim, Phyllis Cannan, Robert Poulton, Kevin West, Deborah York, Nuala Wills, Liza Pulman

Work Introduction

After The Mask of Orpheus (1973-1984), Birtwistle returned to the Orpheus myth with The Second Mrs. Kong; but this time, Russell Hoban’s libretto deals with our modern world of computers, television and video, with an American sense of humour which surely justifies the designation “comic opera.” The two main characters – a gigantic ape (complete with excerpts from the original King Kong film of 1933) and Vermeer’s Girl with a Pearl Earring – are not living beings; they are ideas, and that dooms any personal encounter and possible love relationship before they can begin. Nonetheless, Birtwistle gives the ape and the girl beautiful, lyrical arias, just like Vermeer and Orpheus.


“Anyone who feared their decade-old admiration for the score might be dulled on reacquaintance didn't need to worry; Brabbins's performance reaffirmed this as one of the great operatic achievements of our time.” (Andrew Clements, The Guardian, 11 November 2004)

Libretto – The Second Mrs. Kong

  • Edition type: libretto
  • Language: English
  • UE26935
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2299-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07363-2
EUR 13,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Libretto – The Second Mrs Kong

  • Edition type: libretto
  • Edition info: Text by Russel Hoban
  • Language: German
  • UE30909
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2302-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07409-7
EUR 9,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

piano reduction - The Second Mrs Kong

The Second Mrs Kong
  • Edition type: piano reduction

study score - The Second Mrs Kong

The Second Mrs Kong
  • Edition type: study score

study score - The Second Mrs Kong

The Second Mrs Kong
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.