Universal Edition - Sir Richard Rodney Bennett – The Mines of Sulphur

Sir Richard Rodney Bennett

Sir Richard Rodney Bennett
The Mines of Sulphur

Year of composition: 1963
Subtitle: Opera in 3 acts
Composer: Sir Richard Rodney Bennett
Librettist: Beverley Cross
Original Language: Englisch
Translator: Kurt Herrmann
Parts: Jenny, Sopran / Rosalind, Mezzosopran / Leda, Alt / Boconnion, Tenor / Fenney, Tenor / Tovey, Bariton / Tooley, Bariton / Braxton (Sherrin), Bassbariton / Trim, stumme Rolle
Instrumentation details:
3·2·3·2 - 4·2·3·1 - timp., perc. (3), xyl., vib., glock. - hp., cel., pno., hpsd. - str.
Scenery: 1
Duration: 180′
Please check your input!

  • Bennett Sir Richard Rodney

  • The Mines of Sulphur

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

The Mines of Sulphur

World Première

Location: Sadlers Wells London / Great Britain
Date: 24.02.1965

Work Introduction

Part eerie ghost story, part murder mystery, Sir Richard Rodney Bennett’s opera The Mines of Sulphur made a triumphant eleventh hour addition to Glimmerglass Opera’s 2004 festival season in Cooperstown, New York. Commissioned by Sadler’s Wells in 1965, Bennett’s opera with its richly coloured score was widely acclaimed at the time of its première but fell into eclipse shortly after. It was such a wonderful surprise to witness a new life for this work, says the composer, and in such a marvellous new production. I couldn’t be happier with the results. Glimmerglass music director Stewart Robertson remembered the opera from his student days in Glasgow and suggested it when the scheduled première at the festival of a commissioned work was postponed. The gothic tale takes place in an 18th-century English country house where the wealthy landowner, Braxton, has been murdered by a vagabond trio of outcasts. A travelling band of actors arrives unexpectedly seeking shelter and enacts a play that reveals the treachery. But who are these actors really and what else have they wrought upon the household? As Shakespeare wrote in Othello, Dangerous conceits are, in their natures, poisons…[and] burn like the mines of sulphur. A riveting climax ensues.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.