Universal Edition - Walter Braunfels – The Birds

Walter Braunfels

Walter Braunfels
The Birds

Opus: op. 30
Year of composition: 1913-1919
Subtitle: Ein lyrisch-phantastisches Spiel in 2 Aufzügen
Composer: Walter Braunfels
Text Source: after Aristophanes
Text Editor: Walter Braunfels
Parts: Hoffegut und Ratefreund, Bürger einer großen Stadt, tenor and high bass
Stimme des Zeus, baritone
Prometheus, baritone
Wiedhopf, einstens ein Mensch, nun König der Vögel, baritone
Nachtigall, high soprano
Zaunschlüpfer, soprano
Adler, bass
Rabe, bass
Flamingo, tenor
1. Drossel, low soprano
2. Drossel, soprano
3 Schwalben und 2 Meisen, sopranos
4 Wendehälse, tenors
2 Kibitze, basses
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 3 2 2 2 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc(2), hp(2), cel, str; flute behind the scene
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute
cor anglais
1st clarinet in A
2nd clarinet in A
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in E
2nd horn in E
3rd horn in E
4th horn in E
1st trumpet in Bb
2nd trumpet in Bb
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
flute cont.aind the scene
Scenery: 2
Duration: 120′
Please check your input!

  • Braunfels Walter

  • The Birds

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Die Vögel, op. 30
Die Vögel, op. 30

World Première

Location: Nationaltheater München / Germany
Date: 30.11.1920
Conductor: Bruno Walter

Work Introduction

Premiered by Bruno Walter in 1920 (the year when the Phantastische Erscheinungen also received its first performance), The Birds may well be the composer’s chef-d’oeuvre; it is certainly the work that has had more performances than any other of his compositions after World War II, with productions fairly regularly since its first post-war performance in Berlin in 1994. Klaus Geitel described the experience in Die Welt: “Saturated with a closely-woven richness of inspiration … a magnificent piece of music”. Seventy years previously, Alfred Einstein enthused after the premiere: “I do not believe such a complete work of art has ever before been performed on the German operatic stage. There is an imperative at work here which calls for comparison with the Mastersingers and Pfitzner’s Palestrina.”

“The key to Braunfels’ treatment of the subject lies in the depiction of three levels of reality: the world of men, the world of the birds (or that of the imagination) and the world of the gods. Whereas in Aristophanes the men succeed in their rebellion against their gods, Braunfels here lends a more ‘Christian’ character to Zeus, father of the gods and has him punish man for his arrogance. After the city of the birds has been destroyed by the forces of heaven, the birds pay homage in a pious hymn to the power and greatness of the gods. The humans have to return home in humiliation.” (Frithjof Haas)

Piano reduction – The Birds

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: German
  • UE6420
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3321-5
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07861-3
EUR 70,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

full score - The Birds

The Birds
  • Edition type: full score

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.