Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas: 7 Klangräume

Georg Friedrich Haas: 7 Klangräume

Posted by Johannes Feigl on 18 October 2012 (comments: 2)

Georg Friedrich Haas (c) Lucerne Festival, Priska Ketterer

The 7 Klangräume by Georg Friedrich Haas will be performed on 27 October in New York. At the end of April 1791, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart applied for the position of second Kapellmeister at St. Stephen’s Cathedral in Vienna, hoping to inherit the position from Leopold Hofmann, the incumbent Kapellmeister. The City Council of Vienna accepted Mozart’s petition in a letter dated 9 May, 1791. The composer Georg Friedrich Haas used this strongly worded decree as a basis for the text in the vocal passages of his Sieben Klangräume accompanying the unfinished fragments of Mozart’s Requiem KV 626.

7 Klangräume (2005)
for choir and orchestra | 28'
27/10/2012 New York
Argento Chamber Ensemble, c. Michel Galante

Go back

Add a comment

Comment by Robert Sholl | 2012-11-21

Please write something for the organ!

Comment by Johannes Feigl | 2012-11-22

Dear Robert,
I can understand your wish - but it seems like we have to be patient...