Universal Edition - Symphony guide: Janáček’s Sinfonietta

Symphony guide: Janáček’s Sinfonietta

Posted by Johannes Feigl on 21 May 2014

Leoš Janáček (c) Leoš Janáček Foundation“If you think that a piece that begins and ends with a phalanx of military fanfares, performed by an additional ensemble of 13 brass players - including nine trumpets – can’t possibly be taken seriously as one of the 20th century’s most compelling symphonies, then look away now.”

Tom Service’s latest entry in his symphony guide series takes a closer look at Leoš Janáček’s Sinfonietta.

Read the full text on The Guardian.

Go back

Add a comment