Universal Edition - Georg Friedrich Haas – chants oubliés

Georg Friedrich Haas

Georg Friedrich Haas
chants oubliés

Year of composition: 2011
Scored for: for chamber orchestra
Composer: Georg Friedrich Haas
Instrumentation: 0 0 2 0 - 2 2 2 0, vln(8), vla(4), vc(4), cb(2)
Instrumentation details:
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
1st violin
2nd violin
3rd violin
4th violin
5th violin
6th violin
7th violin
8th violin
1st viola
2nd viola
3rd viola
4th viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
3rd violoncello
4th violoncello
1st contrabass
2nd contrabass
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Münchener Kammerorchester, Alexander Liebreich, Artistic Director (in co-operation with Kunstfest Weimar) and Los Angeles Philharmonic Association, Gustavo Dudamel, Music Director
Duration: 20′
Please check your input!

  • Haas Georg Friedrich

  • chants oubliés

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Pinakothek der Moderne München / Germany
Date: 04.06.2011
Orchestra: Münchener Kammerorchester
Conductor: Alexander Liebreich

Work Introduction

Chants oubliés is written for a chamber orchestra separated into two groups. One group consists of 8 violins, 4 violas and 4 celli (i.e. 4 string quartets making up one ensemble); the other group consists of two of each of the following: clarinets, horns, trumpets, trombones and double basses.

The title refers to late works by Franz Liszt (Valses oubliés, Romance oubliée) – Liszt’s technique of presenting one-part melodies in a different sound environment (often that of the piano) is applied here to the possibilities of the chamber orchestra.

Georg Friedrich Haas

View the full score

study score - chants oubliés

chants oubliés
  • for chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

study score - chants oubliés

chants oubliés
  • for chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.