Universal Edition - Alban Berg – 3 Pieces

Alban Berg

Alban Berg
3 Pieces

Year of composition: 1926/1928
Subtitle: from the ‘Lyric Suite’
Scored for: for string orchestra
Composer: Alban Berg
Instrumentation details:

Table of Contents:
Andante amoroso
Allegro misterioso
Adagio appassionato
Duration: 17′
Please check your input!

  • Berg Alban

  • 3 Pieces

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Lyrische Suite

World Première

Location: Berlin / Germany
Date: 31.01.1929
Orchestra: Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Jascha Horenstein

Work Introduction

The Three Pieces (nos. 2, 3, 4) for String Orchestra were originally part of Berg’s Lyric Suite for string quartet (1926), one of the Austrian composer’s most important pieces and the turning point in his compositional work, marking his first extensive use of the twelve-tone technique developed by his teacher Arnold Schönberg. It is also considered a secret message of love to the wife of Prague industrialist Herbert Fuchs-Robettin: Hanna Fuchs, for whom Berg had developed a great passion, as evinced in a handwritten copy dedicated to her with the words “May it [the score] be a small token of a great love.”

Berg himself arranged the three pieces (No. 2, Andante amoroso: No. 3, Allegro misterioso: No. 4, Adagio appassionato) for string orchestra in 1927, after being asked to do so by Emil Hertzka, who was managing director of Universal Edition at the time, as we see in a letter Berg wrote to his friend and colleague Anton Webern on 10 August 1927: “… after issuing a whole series of works for string orchestra (incl. Schönberg’s sextet and F-sharp minor quartet), Hertzka also wants pieces from the Lyr. Suite. I am thinking of movements II, III and IV.”

The Three Pieces (nos. 2, 3, 4) for String Orchestra were premièred on 31 January 1929 in Berlin, Jascha Horenstein conducting the Berlin Philharmonic. Erich Kleiber conducted them for the first time in the United States with great success the following year. Dutch composer Theo Verbey completed the version of the Lyric Suite for string orchestra, arranging nos. 1, 5 and 6, which Berg had not reworked.

full score - 3 Pieces

3 Pieces
  • for string orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

full score - 3 Pieces

3 Pieces
  • for string orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

Location: Opera Theatre, Clermont-Ferrand (F), Orchestra: Orchestre d'Auvergne

Location: Opera Theatre, Clermont-Ferrand (F), Orchestra: Orchestre d'Auvergne

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.