Universal Edition - Alexander Wassiljewitsch Mossolow – Konzert

Alexander Wassiljewitsch Mossolow

Alexander Wassiljewitsch Mossolow

Opus: op. 14
Year of composition: 1927
Scored for: for piano and orchestra
Composer: Alexander Wassiljewitsch Mossolow
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 2 1 1 0 - timp, perc, str
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
clarinet in A
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
trumpet in A
percussion (triangle, cymbals, tam-tam, military drum, bass drum)
violin I
violin II
Duration: 23′
Dedication: Herrn N. Malka zugeeignet
Please check your input!

  • Mossolow Alexander Wassiljewitsch

  • Konzert

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Konzert, op. 14

Work Introduction

There are traces of American jazz in the slow sections of the concerto’s first movement, whereas the con moto parts are evocative of the world of machinery – a favourite subject of cultural interest in the 1920s. The second movement is wonderfully original – swinging theatre music, now abstract, now richly suggestive, in a way Mossolov’s teacher Prokofiev would have liked. The third movement is excited and exciting, its rhythms hugely compelling, rousing and virtuosic.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.