Universal Edition - Alexander Zemlinsky – Eine florentinische Tragödie

Alexander Zemlinsky

Alexander Zemlinsky
Eine florentinische Tragödie

Opus: op. 16
Year of composition: 1916
Year of arrangement: 2015
Subtitle: Oper in 1 Aufzug
Scored for: for soli and ensemble or chamber orchestra
Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
Arranger: Roland Freisitzer
Text Source: "A Florentine Tragedy" von Oscar Wilde
Librettist: Max Meyerfeld
Parts: Guido Bardi, Tenor
Simone, Bariton
Bianca, Sopran
Instrumentation: 1 1 3 1 - 2 1 1 0 - timp, perc(2), cel, pno, str
Instrumentation details:
flute (+picc)
oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb (+cl(A))
2nd clarinet in Bb (+cl(A)): bass clarinet in Bb
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
trumpet in C
violin I
violin II
double bass (solo strings or string section)
Scenery: 1
Duration: 60′
Please check your input!

  • Zemlinsky Alexander | Arr.: Roland Freisitzer

  • Eine florentinische Tragödie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Musikverein, Brahms-Saal Wien / Austria
Date: 11.05.2015
Orchestra: Ensemble Kontrapunkte
Conductor: Peter Keuschnig
Main Soloists: Alda Caiello, Dietmar Kerschbaum, Steven Scheschareg

Work Introduction

In keeping with the chamber drama character of the material, Roland Freisitzer has also arranged a chamber version of the opera. This chamber version makes do with just 20 instruments (optionally with string sections). Such a radical reduction of the orchestra called for significant alterations to the work so that, by changing and re-weighting the instrumentation, the absence of certain instruments in the score is not seen as a shortcoming but rather as a means of bringing Zemlinsky’s superb harmonic ideas to the fore once again. All of which makes for riveting chamber music theatre!

study score - Eine florentinische Tragödie

Eine florentinische Tragödie
  • for soli and ensemble or chamber orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.