Universal Edition - Alexander Zemlinsky – The Mermaid

Alexander Zemlinsky

Alexander Zemlinsky
The Mermaid

Year of composition: 1903
Subtitle: Fantasy
Version: New critical edition by Antony Beaumont
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
Edited by: Antony Beaumont
Instrumentation: 4 3 4 3 - 6 3 4 1 - timp, perc(2), hp(2), str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute (+2ndpicc)
4th flute (+1stpicc)
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb
1st clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
2nd clarinet in A (+cl(Bb))
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
5th horn in F
6th horn in F
1st trumpet in F
2nd trumpet in F
3rd trumpet in F
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
4th trombone
bass tuba
1st harp
2nd harp
violin I
violin II
double bass
Table of Contents:
Editor’s Report
Notenbeiträge / Musical Illustrations
II. (revidierte Fassung / revised version)
IIa. (Urfassung / original version)
Duration: 47′
Please check your input!

  • Zemlinsky Alexander

  • The Mermaid

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Die Seejungfrau

World Première

Location: Internationales Congress Center Dresden / Germany
Date: 27.01.2013
Orchestra: Dresdner Philharmonie
Conductor: Markus Poschner

Work Introduction

Zemlinsky structured the score of The Mermaid in three parts. In the new critical edition, scheduled for publication in 2013, two versions of Part II appear side by side: the original version (with the rediscovered episode of the Mer-witch) builds to a wild climax, bordering on hysteria, and disrupts the formal balance of the work. The revised version, on the other hand, passes elegantly over the agony and ecstasy of Andersen’s fairy tale, as if to say, “The rest is silence”.

View the full study score

Study score – The Mermaid

'Only music can resolve those mysteries of the mind which often kindle in the human soul.' (Hans Christian Andersen, 1831)

  • for large orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • Edition info: New critical edition by Antony Beaumont.
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • UE35541
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7333-4
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08663-2
EUR 52,50

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

full score - The Mermaid

The Mermaid
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: full score

Future Performances

Location: Aubade Hall, Toyama (J), Orchestra: Toho Academy Orchestra, Conductor: Christian Arming

Location: Concert Hall, Helsinki (FIN), Orchestra: Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Hans Graf

Location: Long Beach Performing Arts Center, Long Beach, CA (USA), Orchestra: Long Beach Symphony, Conductor: Eckart Preu

Location: Musikverein, Großer Saal, Wien (A), Orchestra: ORF Radio-Symphonieorchester Wien, Conductor: Cornelius Meister

Location: Kursaal, Bern (CH), Orchestra: Sinfonieorchester Basel, Conductor: Mario Venzago

show all preformances

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.