Universal Edition - Alexander Zemlinsky – Sinfonietta

Alexander Zemlinsky

Alexander Zemlinsky

Opus: op. 23
Year of composition: 1934
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Alexander Zemlinsky
Edited by: Antony Beaumont
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 3 3 0 - timp, perc, hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1. flute
2. flute (+ picc.)
1. oboe
2. oboe (+ c.a.)
1. clarinet in B (+ cl.(A))
2. clarinet in A (+ cl.(Bb)
1. bassoon
2. bassoon
1. horn in F
2. horn in F
3. horn in F
4. horn in F
1. trumpet in C
2. trumpet in C
3. trumpet in C
1. trombone
2. trombone
3. trombone
violin I
violin II
Duration: 22′
Please check your input!

  • Zemlinsky Alexander

  • Sinfonietta

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Sinfonietta, op. 23

World Première

Location: Prag / Czech Republic
Date: 19.02.1935
Conductor: Heinrich Jalowetz

Work Introduction

The composition of this 22-minute orchestral work was suggested by Universal Edition: Alexander Zemlinsky was asked to write a piece without soloists that would be easy to promote.

It actually enjoyed a promising series of successful performances, including in New York under Mitropoulos – however, the composer was already too ill to attend the concert. The music of Sinfonietta lies somewhere between Mahler-style late-romanticism and a linear objectivity, with the second movement, a Ballade, coming closest to the spirit of Mahler. The work shows what Viennese music can sound like without Schönberg’s influence. Zemlinsky connoisseurs will also spot quotations from his own works, including String Quartet No. 2, the sixth Maeterlinck-Gesang and the opera Der Kreidekreis.

Score – Sinfonietta

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: score
  • UE10287
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3840-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02634-8
EUR 84,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Study score – Sinfonietta

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE31926
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1104-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06535-4
EUR 60,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.