Universal Edition - Arvo Pärt – Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

Arvo Pärt

Arvo Pärt
Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

Year of composition: 1977/1980
Scored for: for string orchestra and bell
Composer: Arvo Pärt
Instrumentation details:
violin I
violin II
double bass
Table of Contents:
Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
Duration: 6′
Please check your input!

  • Pärt Arvo

  • Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten
Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

World Première

Location: Estonia Concert Hall Tallinn / Estonia
Date: 07.04.1977
Orchestra: Estonian National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Eri Klas

Work Introduction

In the past years we have had many losses in the world of music to mourn. Why did the date of Benjamin Britten’s death – 4 December 1976 – touch such a chord in me? During this time I was obviously at the point where I could recognize the magnitude of such a loss. Inexplicable feelings of guilt, more than that even, arose in me. I had just discovered Britten for myself. Just before his death I began to appreciate the unusual purity of his music – I had had the impression of the same kind of purity in the ballads of Guillaume de Machaut. And besides, for a long time I had wanted to meet Britten personally – and now it would not come to that.

Arvo Pärt

Study score – Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten is Arvo Pärt's tribute to Benjamin Britten who died in 1976.

  • for string orchestra and bell
  • Edition type: study score
  • Series: Neue Studienpartituren-Reihe
  • UE35536
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-7079-1
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-08412-6
EUR 13,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Cantus in Memory of Benjamin Britten

Future Performances

Location: Kantonsschule, Wettingen (CH), Orchestra: Orchester der Kantonsschule Wettingen, Conductor: Jenny Konrad

Location: St. Paul's Hall, Huddersfield (GB), Orchestra: University Orchestra, Conductor: David Milsom

Location: Concert Hall, Helsinki (FIN), Orchestra: Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Osmo Vänskä

Location: KKL, Luzern (CH), Orchestra: Human Rights Orchestra, Conductor: Alessio Allegrini

Location: Besední dum, Brno (CZ), Orchestra: Brno Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Alexander Joel

show all preformances

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.