Universal Edition - Arvo Pärt – Fratres

Arvo Pärt

Arvo Pärt

Year of composition: 1977/1991
Scored for: for string orchestra and percussion
Composer: Arvo Pärt
Instrumentation details:
percussion (1 player: claves and bass drum or tom-tom)
violin I
violin II
violoncello: contrabass
Table of Contents:
Fratres für Streichorchester und Schlagzeug
Duration: 10′
Dedication: in memoriam Eduard Tubin
Please check your input!

  • Pärt Arvo

  • Fratres

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Date: 29.04.1983
Remarks: venue: Schwedischer Rundfunk

Work Introduction

Composed in Pärt's very own Tintinnabuli-style, Fratres allows many different settings because it is not bound to a specific timbre.

“The highest virtue of music, for me, lies outside of its mere sound. The particular timbre of an instrument is part of the music, but it is not the most important element. If it were, I would be surrendering to the essence of the music. Music must exist of itself … two, three notes … the essence must be there, independent of the instruments.” (Arvo Pärt)

Study score – Fratres

'...Music must exist of itself … two, three notes … the essence must be there, independent of the instruments.' (Arvo Pärt)

  • for string orchestra and percussion
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE17802
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-1854-0
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-02488-7
EUR 17,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Future Performances

10.08.2017 - Mozartfest Würzburg
Location: Tallinn (FIN), Orchestra: Finnish Chamber Orchestra, Conductor: Jukka-Pekka Saraste

Location: Bazilika, Pannonhalma (H), Orchestra: Concerto Budapest, Conductor: Zoltán Rácz

Location: Pori (FIN), Orchestra: Pori Sinfonietta, Conductor: Janne Nisonen

Location: Kokemaki (FIN), Orchestra: Pori Sinfonietta, Conductor: Janne Nisonen

Location: Kongresshaus, Biel/Bienne (CH), Orchestra: Sinfonie Orchester Biel Solothurn, Conductor: Stefan Blunier

show all preformances

5 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.