Universal Edition - Beat Furrer – Dort ist das Meer – nachts steig' ich hinab

Beat Furrer

Beat Furrer
Dort ist das Meer – nachts steig' ich hinab

Year of composition: 1985/1986
Scored for: for mixed choir and orchestra
Composer: Beat Furrer
Text Author: Pablo Neruda
Choir: 4S, 4A, 4T, 4B
Instrumentation: 3 2 4 3 - 4 3 3 1 - perc(2), pno(2),, str (4 4 6 6 4)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute (+alto fl)
2nd flute
3rd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
bass clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
1st piano
2nd piano
electric organ
1st violin I
2nd violin I
3rd violin I
4th violin I
1st violin II
2nd violin II
3rd violin II
4th violin II
1st viola
2nd viola
3rd viola
4th viola
5th viola
6th viola
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
3rd violoncello
4th violoncello
5th violoncello
6th violoncello
1st contrabass
2nd contrabass
3rd contrabass
4th contrabass
Duration: 16′
Please check your input!

  • Furrer Beat

  • Dort ist das Meer – nachts steig' ich hinab

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Dort ist das Meer – nachts steig' ich ...

World Première

Location: Genève / Switzerland
Date: 19.08.1986
Orchestra: Orchestre de la Suisse Romande
Conductor: Michel Tabachnik

Work Introduction

With reference to the poem by Chilean poet Pablo Neruda, Furrer remarks that it is an expression of despair over past tragedy, misery, and the Mapocho River as its witness, born of snow, sprung from the beak of an eagle, winding through the "valley of ashes". … The increasingly intense cries of the poet, the fearful questions … are answered with silence. Neruda's text was not used here as a programmatic model for the composition of the music. Since only fragments of his text were used, it was possible to subjugate the language to the musical composition.

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.