Universal Edition - Beat Furrer – ... cold and calm and moving

Beat Furrer

Beat Furrer
... cold and calm and moving

Year of composition: 1992
Scored for: for flute, harp, violin, viola and violoncello
Composer: Beat Furrer
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 25′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

... cold and calm and moving

World Première

Location: Konzerthaus Wien / Austria
Date: 15.10.1992

Work Introduction

Despite the rapid, virtuosic, aggressive sections, mostly played by the three strings, …cold and calm and moving leaves the impression of endless calm and introspection. The five instruments very rarely play simultaneously; when they do, the sound seems to be coming from a much larger ensemble. The harp sets the keynote with its slow and softly repeated pitches, joined again and again by the flute. Here and there, one or the other plays alone, for itself, while the string trio always enters as a unit. The composer deploys the instruments in various combinations, suggesting the Far East now and then – a fine, sensitive sonic delineation.

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

... cold and calm and moving

3 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.