Universal Edition - Bohuslav Martinu – The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca

Bohuslav Martinu

Bohuslav Martinu
The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca

Year of composition: 1955
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Bohuslav Martinu
Instrumentation: 4 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
Table of Contents:
Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca (für Orchester)
Remarks: Frescos by Piero della Francesca in Arezzo
Duration: 19′
Dedication: À Rafael Kubelik
Please check your input!

  • Martinu Bohuslav

  • The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca ...

World Première

Location: Salzburg / Austria
Date: 26.08.1956
Orchestra: Wiener Philharmoniker
Conductor: Rafael Kubelik

Work Introduction

In the 1950s, Bohuslav Martinů was deeply impressed by Piero della Francesca’s cycle of frescoes in 8 scenes, depicting the Legend of the True Cross in the choir of San Francesco in Arezzo. In his orchestral work, Les Fresques de Piero della Francesca (1955, 19 min), he wanted to give voice to the majestic, icy silence, as well as the strange, peaceful poetry of the paintings, and to express the colourful, mysterious atmosphere in music. The world première at the Salzburg Festival in 1956 was conducted by Rafael Kubelík.

View the full score

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

The Frescoes of Piero della Francesca

Future Performances

Location: Filharmonia Narodowa Warszawa, Warszawa (PL), Orchestra: Narodowa Orkiestra Symfoniczna PR, Conductor: Lawrence Foster

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.