Universal Edition - Bohuslav Martinu – The Greek Passion

Bohuslav Martinu

Bohuslav Martinu
The Greek Passion

Year of composition: 1957
Subtitle: Music drama in 4 acts
Version: 1st version (London version)
Composer: Bohuslav Martinu
Edited by: Aleš Brezina
Text Source: "Christ Recrucified"
Librettist: Bohuslav Martinu
Original Language: Englisch
Translator: Nicola Raab Mag.; Brian Large
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp(2), perc(3), hp, cemb, str - on the stage: rec, cl, acc, vln(1)
Instrumentation details:
1. flute
2. flute
3. flute (+ picc.)
1. oboe
2. oboe
3. oboe (+ c.a.)
1. clarinet in B
2. clarinet in B
3. clarinet in B
1. bassoon
2. bassoon
3. bassoon
1. horn in F
2. horn in F
3. horn in F
4. horn in F
1. trumpet in C
2. trumpet in C
3. trumpet in C
1. trombone
2. trombone
3. trombone
timpani (2)
perc (min. 3 player)
violin I
violin II
music on stage: descant recorder (+ Arecorder
clarinet in C
violin (1)
Duration: 130′
Dedication: Paul Sacher, Graf Herbert Otto Teo
Please check your input!

  • Martinu Bohuslav

  • The Greek Passion

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

The Greek Passion,

World Première

Location: Festspielhaus Bregenz / Austria
Date: 20.07.1999
Orchestra: Wiener Symphoniker
Choir: Kammerchor Moskau
Conductor: Ulf Schirmer
Scenery: David Pountney
Main Soloists: Esa Ruuttunen - Priester Grigoris, Christopher Ventris - Manolios, John Daszak - Yannakos, Adrian Clarke - Kostandis, Douglas Nasrawi - Panait, Nina Stemme - Katerina, Jonas Kaufmann - Nikolio, Anat Efraty - Lenio, Richard Angas - Captain, Eglis Silins -
Remarks: Urauführung der Erstfassung

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

The Greek Passion

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.