Universal Edition - Cristóbal Halffter – Concerto

Cristóbal Halffter

Cristóbal Halffter

Year of composition: 2014
Scored for: for viola and orchestra
Composer: Cristóbal Halffter
Soloists: viola
Instrumentation: 3 3 4 3 - 4 3 3 1 - perc(4), hp, str(14 12 10 8 6)
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
3rd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
3rd oboe (+c.a)
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
3rd clarinet in Bb
4th clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
3rd bassoon (+cbsn)
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in C
2nd trumpet in C
3rd trumpet in C
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
bass tuba
1st percussion
2nd percussion
3rd percussion
4th percussion
violin I(14)
violin II(12)
double bass(6)
Commissioned by: Geschrieben im Aufrag des Philharmonischen Orchesters Kiel für den Solisten Nils Mönkemeyer.
Duration: 25′
Dedication: Gewidmet Daniel Karasek und Georg Fritzsch als Vertreter des gesamten Kieler Opernhauses, mit meiner Freundschaft und Dankbarkeit.
Please check your input!

  • Halffter Cristóbal

  • Concerto

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Kieler Schloss Kiel / Germany
Date: 07.02.2016
Orchestra: Philharmonisches Orchester Kiel
Conductor: Daniel Carlberg
Main Soloists: Nils Mönkemeyer, vla

Work Introduction

Composed in 2014, the Concerto for Viola and Orchestra has two movements and was inspired by a viola solo from Halffter’s opera Schachnovelle (Chess Game), in which the instrument symbolises the loneliness of the imprisoned Dr Berger. Halffter calls the viola a “noble instrument” and maintains that its sound has long fascinated him. Accordingly, Halffter’s concerto sees the viola cover the full range of its expressive power: from virtuoso to very intimate.

View the full study score

study score - Concerto

  • for viola and orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.