Universal Edition - David Fennessy – BIG LUNG

David Fennessy

David Fennessy

Year of composition: 2008
Version: original version
Scored for: for church organ and 2 percussionists
Composer: David Fennessy
Instrumentation details:
1st percussion
2nd percussion
Commissioned by: BIG LUNG was co-commissioned by the Le Weekend and Huddersfield Festivals with funds provided by the Performing Rights Society. It was first performed by Kevin Bowyer, Asuka Hatanaka and Tom De Cock at the Church of the Holy Rude, Stirling, on May 24th 2008 conducted by the composer.
Remarks: Due to the often long distances between organ console and performing area in a church, this piece will require a conductor.
Duration: 24′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Stirling / Great Britain
Date: 24.05.2008
Conductor: David Fennessy
Main Soloists: Kevin Bowyer, org; Asuka Hatanaka + Tom De Cock, perc
Remarks: venue: Church of the Holy Rude

Work Introduction

One of the most intriguing aspects of church organ music in performance is that, much of the time, the performer him/herself is unseen. The percussionists in BIG LUNG serve to amplify that part of the music making normally invisible in this situation; the impetus of the sound – the attack.

Because of the mechanics involved in the production of the organ’s sound, it seems to me that the instrument is capable, in theory at least, of producing an unending out-breath. During the composition of the piece I became obsessed with rhythms and structures associated with breathing, inhalation and exhalation. Around half way through the writing process I came across a quote attributed to Karlheinz Stockhausen which he apparently delivered on his death bed:

“A completely new time has come, I have found a new layer of breathing, listen!”

The piece finishes on a kind of ecstatic, terminal out-breath.

David Fennessy

View the full study score

Selected editions are available on sale on request.


Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.