Universal Edition - David Fennessy – BODIES

David Fennessy

David Fennessy

Year of composition: 2010
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: David Fennessy
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 15′
Please check your input!

  • Fennessy David


  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: National Concert Hall Dublin / Republic of Ireland
Date: 05.02.2010
Orchestra: RTÉ National Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Dmitri Jurowski

Work Introduction

When I began to think about writing music for such a large group of musicians as a symphony orchestra, I kept getting drawn back to a particular experience I had in the spring of 2009.

I was lucky enough to take part in an artist residency in Hong Kong; a city so dense and crammed with people that you couldn’t help but be aware of yourself and the physical space that you occupy. I remember vividly, working in my room on the 15th floor of a hotel (I was finishing a piece for solo cello at the time) and having the feeling of being hemmed in on all sides, as well as above and below, by bodies - thousands of bodies. There I was, in apparent perfect solitude but aware that only a few feet away were masses of people with their individual lives, problems, aspirations and beliefs. If you stopped and listened hard enough it was almost as if you could hear them all murmuring, shouting, screaming – a Mass of voices.

Without wanting to execute a literal aural representation, my writing of this piece was however informed by my memories of that strange experience and my feelings of connection with that unseen congregation.

In BODIES, a choir of double basses situated at the back of the orchestra leads the assembled voices onstage (and off) through a kind of liturgy towards something altogether more physical.

David Fennessy

View the full study score

study score - BODIES

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.