Universal Edition - David Fennessy – Crying on the inside (Laughing on the outside)

David Fennessy

David Fennessy
Crying on the inside (Laughing on the outside)

Year of composition: 2007
Scored for: for bass flute (amplified), percussion and elecronics
Composer: David Fennessy
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 12′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Haus der Deutschen Ensemble Akademie Frankfurt am Main / Germany
Date: 06.03.2007
Main Soloists: Daniel Agi, bass fl; Asuka Hatanaka, perc

Work Introduction

Introvert and extrovert.
Crying and laughing.

A comedian approaches the microphone. When he tries to speak, the sound feeds back – wildly. A barrier to communication.

This was the starting point for Crying on the inside (Laughing on the outside). It seemed to me that the cliché of the comedian’s split personality – hiding but with a need to be exposed; the outward, the inward; extrovert, introvert – could be present in any type of performer.

I became interested in the notion that a feedback loop, at first an offensive noise, could be slowly mastered and transformed by the performer into a tool for expression. The flute player’s gestures - the position of his body, even the shape of his mouth – all affect the pitch and intensity of the feedback.

As for the percussionist – perhaps it is the equal and opposite side of this split personality. The inside of the piano (in this case, played by a percussionist) becomes a resonating chamber for the flutist’s thoughts and actions. But somehow at the same time it is the audience – reacting. We hear laughs but are they with the performer or at the performer?

Anyway, by the end it all explodes in a cacophony of ‘comedic’ percussion clichés. Crash, bang, wallop – pure slapstick.

This piece was composed during my time at the International Ensemble Modern Academy in Frankfurt, Germany. It was premiered by Daniel Agi (bass flute), Asuka Hatenaka (percussion) and Michael Nitschke (electronics) on March 6th 2007 at the Haus der Deutschen Ensemble Akademie, Frankfurt.

David Fennessy

Selected editions are available on sale on request.

Crying on the inside (Laughing on the outside)

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.