Universal Edition - David Fennessy – Hauptstimme

David Fennessy

David Fennessy

Year of composition: 2013
Scored for: for amplified solo viola and ensemble
Composer: David Fennessy
Soloists: viola
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 0 0 0 0 - Rhodes piano, perc, e.guit, vln, vla, vc, cb
Instrumentation details:
bass clarinet in Bb
percussion (+t-tom
Pedal bass drum)
electric guitar
Rhodes piano
double bass
Commissioned by: Commissioned by Red Note Ensemble with financial assistance from Creative Scotland
Duration: 17′
Please check your input!

  • Fennessy David

  • Hauptstimme

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt


World Première

Location: Huddersfield / Great Britain
Date: 16.11.2013
Orchestra: Red Note Ensemble
Conductor: Garry Walker
Main Soloists: Garth Knox, vla
Remarks: venue: St Paul's Hall

Work Introduction

The notion of the individual and how he/she contributes or functions in a group setting as well as how that group can meaningfully make a collective statement has been central to a number of my works over the years – starting with graft for string quartet (2000), through to 13 Factories for ensemble (2009). Once again, it seems to be at the core of this new piece for solo viola and ensemble.

For much of the time, the solo viola is buried in a thick ensemble texture with the primary goal merely to be heard. Once it has achieved this, a more complex question emerges – what to say?

David Fennessy

View the full study score

study score - Hauptstimme

  • for amplified solo viola and ensemble
  • Edition type: study score

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.