Universal Edition - David Fennessy – La Rejouissance, La Paix

David Fennessy

David Fennessy
La Rejouissance, La Paix

Year of composition: 2010
Scored for: for two ensembles and electronics
Composer: David Fennessy
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 3 2 2 0 - perc(3), hp, pno, vln(3), vla, vc(4), cb
Instrumentation details:
ONSTAGE: flute (+d. ‘Party Blower’)
oboe (+Party Blower)
clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
bassoon (+Party Blower)
horn in F (+Party Blower)
Piccolo Trompete in B (+Party Blower)
trombone (+Party Blower)
1st violoncello
2nd violoncello
OFFSTAGE: flute (+Party Blower)
oboe (+Party Blower)
clarinet in Bb (+bass cl(Bb))
bassoon (+cbsn)
horn in F
1st trumpet in C (+Party Blower)
2nd trumpet in C (+Party Blower)
1st percussion
2nd percussion
1st violin (+Party Blower)
2nd violin (+Party Blower)
viola (+Party Blower)
1st violoncello (+Party Blower)
2nd violoncello (+Party Blower)
double bass (+Party Blower)
Commissioned by: La Rejouissance, La Paix was commissioned by Ensemble Modern with kind support by Friends of Ensemble Modern e. V.
Duration: 14′
Dedication: For Ensemble Modern on the occasion of their 30th Anniversary
Please check your input!

  • Fennessy David

  • La Rejouissance, La Paix

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

La Réjouissance – La Paix

Work Introduction

Two separate but similar ‘real life’ incidents provided the inspiration for the second part of this piece, La Paix. The first came during a concert I was at by a well known contemporary music ensemble when all of a sudden, outside the auditorium, completely oblivious to what was going on inside, a massive fireworks display exploded into life. The second concerned a concert I myself was performing in of the music of Alvin Lucier (itself extremely quiet, where almost nothing happens) and again, for some reason, a brief fireworks display came and went outside the walls of the concert hall. What was strange about the second incident was that it seemed to fit somehow. I wasn’t upset, rather my listening had become so focused that this intrusion seemed only to change the colour of the canvas onto which the sounds were painted, making them even more beautiful and delicate.

What was common to both experiences was that there was something mysterious going on outside, something unseen, a party at which we, the audience, became unintended guests.

The first part of my piece La Rejouissance uses material borrowed from Handel’s Music for the Royal Fireworks. Actually, it is no more than a climactic cadence from the overture but it is stretched out by the ensemble onstage and elaborated upon in an extrovert and solistic manner by the unseen, offstage ensemble.

My gratitude goes to Ensemble Modern and the International Ensemble Modern Academy (of which I am a graduate) for performing this piece. In a way, the physical positioning of the two ensembles acts as a metaphor for Ensemble Modern’s nurturing of the younger generation of players.

Happy Birthday!

David Fennessy

study score - La Rejouissance, La Paix

La Rejouissance, La Paix
  • for two ensembles and electronics
  • Edition type: study score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.