Universal Edition - David Fennessy – Letter to Michael

David Fennessy

David Fennessy
Letter to Michael

Year of composition: 2014
Scored for: for choir (16 voices) a cappella
Composer: David Fennessy
Text Author: Emma Hauck
Original Language: Deutsch
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Commissioned by the Cork International Choral Festival for 'From Composition to Performance, the Seminar on New Choral Music' and grant-aided by the Arts Council of Ireland / An Comhairle Ealaoín. This work was premiered at the Cork International Choral Festival on 2nd of May 2014 by Chamber Choir Ireland, conducted by Paul Hillier.
Duration: 7′
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Letter to Michael

World Première

Location: St. Fin Barre's Cathedral Cork / Republic of Ireland
Date: 02.05.2014
Choir: Chamber Choir Ireland
Conductor: Paul Hillier

Work Introduction

A few years ago I came across an extraordinary piece of art by a woman named Emma Hauck. She was admitted to a German psychiatric ward about a hundred years ago diagnosed with schizophrenia. Whilst a patient there she produced pages and pages of text – thousands of lines in pencil which were addressed to her husband who had ceased to visit her. She simply wrote the words “Sweetheart Come” over and over again or sometimes just the word “come”. Every page is thick with overlapping text and some are so condensed as to be illegible.

Emma Hauck, creative commonsI was deeply moved by these repeated pleas and feel strongly that the desperate passion that can be seen on these pages could only really be expressed with voices. I imagine a dense layering of a simple line; each voice adding to the power of the plea…

David Fennessy

View the full score

choral score - Letter to Michael

Letter to Michael
  • for choir (16 voices) a cappella
  • Edition type: choral score

choral score - Letter to Michael

Letter to Michael
  • for choir (16 voices) a cappella
  • Edition type: choral score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.