Universal Edition - David Fennessy – bow your head

David Fennessy

David Fennessy
bow your head

Year of composition: 2008
Scored for: for string quartet
Composer: David Fennessy
Instrumentation details:
1st violin
2nd violin
Commissioned by: bow your head was commissioned by Enterprise Music Scotland with funds provided by Scottish Arts Council, PRS Foundation and RVW Trust. It was written for the Alba Quartet and first performed by them on 8th November 2008 at Strathdee Music Club, Aberdeenshire as part of The Sound Festival.
Duration: 15′
Dedication: For A. J. McCaffrey
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

bow your head

World Première

Location: Aboyne / Great Britain
Date: 08.11.2008
Orchestra: Alba Quartet
Remarks: venue: Community Theatre

Work Introduction

There’s something uniquely sensual and physical about string music that attracts me as a composer. I love the feeling I get when I hear a good violinist really digging into the bottom string in a Beethoven sonata or a cellist gracefully arpeggiating across the strings in a Bach prelude. Its not just about pitches and rhythms – there’s also something in the quality of the sound, something about the effort it takes to produce the note that gives us clues as to the musical meaning. It’s the massive difference between an up-bow with its build up of tension and a down-bow - the release, the out-breath. This piece is all about the right arm – the bowing arm.

Bow your head begins with the simplest of gestures – the bow drawn across the open strings. By adopting a special scordatura (detuning of the strings), I was able to find all the harmonic, rhythmic, dynamic and textural material I needed for the piece embedded in this one, graceful movement. The members of the string quartet are divided in to two pairs – violin 1 and cello (very much to the foreground) and violin 2 and viola (muted, shadowing). To highlight this relationship the second pair is tuned very slightly flatter than the first. As the piece unfolds violin 2 and viola gradually emerge from the shadows and a dialogue develops.

David Fennessy

study score - bow your head

bow your head
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: study score

set of parts - bow your head

bow your head
  • for string quartet
  • Edition type: set of parts

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.