Universal Edition - David Fennessy – rosewood

David Fennessy

David Fennessy

Year of composition: 2010
Subtitle: 5 short pieces
Scored for: for guitar
Composer: David Fennessy
Instrumentation details:

Commissioned by: Commissioned by the 2011 St Magnus Festival
Duration: 9′
Dedication: for Edna Cromarty
Please check your input!

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Licensing Request

World Première

Location: Italian Cultural Centre Orkney / Great Britain
Date: 18.06.2011
Main Soloists: Allan Neave, guitar

Work Introduction

The knowledge that this piece would be premiered at the Italian Chapel and my vivid memories of visiting there a few years ago guided me during the composition of rosewood. Without wishing to somehow create a musical evocation of the place, notions of calm, reflection, open spaces, echoes and resonances permeate the music.

The title refers to the type of wood often used in the construction of the fingerboard of the guitar. It has a distinct aroma and when I smell it I am immediately and vividly reminded of the once close relationship I had with that instrument.

David Fennessy

performing score - rosewood

  • for guitar
  • Edition type: performing score

performing score - rosewood

  • for guitar
  • Edition type: performing score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.