Universal Edition - David Sawer – Coachman Chronos

David Sawer

David Sawer
Coachman Chronos

Year of composition: 2014
Scored for: for 9 players
Composer: David Sawer
Instrumentation details:
cor anglais
clarinet in A
horn in F
cornet in Bb (+flhn)
double bass
Commissioned by: Commissioned by NMC Recordings as part of the 'Objects at an Exhibition' project to mark its 25th anniversary. This work was supported with funds from the PRS for Music Foundation and the Britten-Pears Foundation.
Please check your input!

  • Sawer David

  • Coachman Chronos

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Coachman Chronos

World Première

Location: Science Museum London / Great Britain
Date: 03.10.2015
Orchestra: Aurora Orchestra
Conductor: Nicholas Collon

Work Introduction

As soon as I saw the splendid 1820 Royal Mail coach in the ‘Making the Modern World’ gallery, I was reminded of Thomas de Quincey’s essay on motion, ‘The English Mail Coach’, and especially the moment where he describes how, by contrasting the speed of movement with the speed of thought, the driver of the coach is able to think clearly, thereby narrowly avoiding disaster. In a world which increasingly emphasises speed, clarity can perhaps be best achieved when time stands still.

David Sawer


David Sawer’s Coachman Chronos, played in front of the York to London mailcoach of 1820, weaves allusions to Thomas de Quincey and Goethe into his wonderfully concise ride towards the abyss […] (Andrew Clements, The Guardian, 5 October 2015)

View the full score

full score - Coachman Chronos

Coachman Chronos
  • for 9 players
  • Edition type: full score

study score - Coachman Chronos

Coachman Chronos
  • for 9 players
  • Edition type: study score

2 Ensembles that have played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.