Universal Edition - David Sawer – the greatest happiness principle

David Sawer

David Sawer
the greatest happiness principle

Year of composition: 1997
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: David Sawer
Instrumentation: 3 2 3 2 - 4 3 4 1 - timp, perc(3), hp, str(12 10 8 8 6)
Instrumentation details:
3(2&3/picc, 3/alto)·2(2/eng hn)·3(2/Eb, 3/bcl)·2(2/cbn) - 4·3·4·1 - perc(3) - hp - strings (12 10 8 8 6)
Commissioned by: Commissioned by the BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Duration: 12′
Dedication: to Mark
Please check your input!

  • Sawer David

  • the greatest happiness principle

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

the greatest happiness principle

World Première

Location: St. David's Hall Cardiff / Great Britain
Date: 06.06.1997
Orchestra: BBC National Orchestra of Wales
Conductor: Mark Wigglesworth

Work Introduction

This piece was inspired by the utopian ideas of the English philosopher Jeremy Bentham, and especially by his application of the panoptic principle to prison design.

This design allowed an observer to observe all the prisoners without the prisoners themselves being able to tell whether they were being watched. The intention was to create a transparent system of self-regulation through constant surveillance.

I wanted the character of the piece to salute this governing idea, however halfway through its composition I recognised my own entrapment. Right at the end of the work the conductor relinquishes control and the orchestra enjoys a moment of abandonment.

David Sawer

Study score – The Greatest Happiness Principle

  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: study score
  • UE16598
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-4877-6
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-06028-1
EUR 48,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

score - the greatest happiness principle

the greatest happiness principle
  • for orchestra
  • Edition type: score

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.