Universal Edition - Dmitri Schostakowitsch – Die Nase

Dmitri Schostakowitsch

Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Die Nase

Opus: op. 15
Year of composition: 1927/1928
Subtitle: Opera in 3 acts and 1 epilogue
Composer: Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Text Source: the novella of the same name
Librettist: Dmitri Schostakowitsch
Translator: Karl Heinz Füssl; Helmut Wagner; Merle Puffer; Michel Ancey; Edward Downes; Fedele D´Amico
Parts: Platon Kusmitsch Kowaljoff: baritone
Iwan Jakowlewitsch: bass baritone
Ein Wachtmeister: very high tenor
Iwan: tenor
The nose in the form of a state council: tenor
Alexandra Grigorjewna Podtotschina: mezzo-soprano
their daughters: sopranos
3 little roles
some speaking parts
17 soloists from the choir
Choir: SATB
Instrumentation: 1 1 1 1 - 1 1 1 0 - Balalaika, Kleine Domra, Kleine Domra, Alt-Domra, Alt-Domra, 1. Teil d. Part (frz.), 2. Teil d. Part (frz.), perc(9), hp(2), pno, str(18 16 14 12 10)
Instrumentation details:
flute (+piccolo, Afl.(G))
oboe (+c.a.)
clarinet in B (+Eb- and bass cl.)
bassoon (+cbsn.)
horn in F
trumpet in B (+Kornett)
1. harp
2. harp
Balalaika(4) (altosrnativ: 1. small Domra
2. small Domra
1. alto-Domra
2. alto-Domra)
violin I(9)
violin II(8)
Table of Contents:
Die Nase
Scenery: 9
Duration: 105′
Please check your input!

  • Schostakowitsch Dmitri

  • Die Nase

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

Die Nase, op. 15

World Première

Location: Leningrad / Russia
Date: 18.01.1930
Conductor: Samuel Samossud
Scenery: Nikolai Smolitsch

Work Introduction

With his first opera The Nose, youngblood Shostakovich produced a work typical of the Roaring Twenties, shortly after Krenek’s Jonny spielt auf and almost simultaneously with Weill’s Threepenny Opera. Inspired by Gogol’s sardonically absurd, socially critical story, Shostakovich composed spirited, lighthearted music in 16 short, consecutive scenes. Yet all of its various styles – circus music, galopp, polka, Russian Orthodox melody, folk tunes (there are four balalaikas in the orchestra) – became material for an annihilating critique of Russian society, still hierarchical and obsessed with authoritarianism 70 years after Gogol’s death.

Piano reduction – The Nose

  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: German
  • UE13439
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-3075-7
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-04731-2
EUR 140,00

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

Libretto – The Nose

  • Edition type: libretto
  • Language: German
  • UE13440
  • ISBN: 978-3-7024-2215-8
  • ISMN: 979-0-008-07030-3
EUR 10,95

Prices incl. VAT plus shipping costs

Pay by credit card, PayPal and direct bank transfer (in some countries)

piano reduction - Die Nase

Die Nase
  • Edition type: piano reduction

piano reduction - Die Nase

Die Nase
  • Edition type: piano reduction
  • Language: English

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.