Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – 1. Symphonie

Ernst Krenek
1. Symphonie

Opus: op. 7
Year of composition: 1921
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Instrumentation details:
2 2 4 3 - 4 2 3 1 - timp, perc - str
Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:
Duration: 31′
Please check your input!

  • Krenek Ernst

  • 1. Symphonie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

1. Symphonie, op. 7

World Première

Location: Berlin / Germany
Date: 17.03.1922
Conductor: Hermann Scherchen

Work Introduction

This is a piece of music by a brilliant young man who was open to all new ideas. After tackling the string quartet genre in his Opus 6, he then turned to the symphony. Ernst Krenek composed restless music with harsh harmonies, strong gestures – frequently recalling mime – and brief lyrical passages in which the sound gains in transparency and brightness. According to Krenek’s autobiography, the score for Symphony No. 1 was influenced by in-depth studies of Mahler’s Symphonies, as well as Arnold Schönberg’s first two String Quartets and Chamber Symphony.

1 Ensemble that has played this work:

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.