Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – 2. Symphonie

Ernst Krenek
2. Symphonie

Opus: op. 12
Year of composition: 1922
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Instrumentation details:
3 2 5 3 - 6 4 4 1 - timp, perc - cel - str
Remarks: Study score available at Musikproduktion Höflich:
Duration: 53′
Please check your input!

  • Krenek Ernst

  • 2. Symphonie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

2. Symphonie, op. 12

World Première

Location: Kassel / Germany
Date: 11.06.1923
Conductor: Robert Laug

Work Introduction

Ernst Krenek’s Symphony No. 2 could be described as a piece of abstract expressionism: it is highly expressive, although it is difficult to pinpoint what is actually being expressed. Like No. 1, Symphony No. 2 is also driven, restless and marked by the prominent role of the timpani. This emphasises the gestures, whether the beats are steady or dotted. Aged 22 when he wrote it, the composer was bursting with ideas, which he conveys in this almost 60-minute work for large orchestra with five clarinets and six horns.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.