Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – 2. Violinkonzert

Ernst Krenek
2. Violinkonzert

Opus: op. 140
Year of composition: 1954
Scored for: for violin and orchestra
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Soloists: violin
Instrumentation: 2 2 2 2 - 4 2 0 0 - Cel, Hf, Pk, Schl(2), Str
Instrumentation details:

Duration: 32′40″
Please check your input!

  • Krenek Ernst

  • 2. Violinkonzert

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

2. Violinkonzert, op. 140

Work Introduction

Krenek has commented extensively on his 2nd violin concerto; those interested in his analysis will learn minutely how it is structured and how the motifs in its three movements are interrelated. Listeners will of course recognize that it was written in his dodecaphonic period – much more important, however, is the strongly emotional impression it leaves – the fragility of the solo part, its tendency toward contemplation, in opposition to the more dramatic and constantly disruptive orchestra. The contrast becomes especially stark when the violin is left alone, followed by the ensemble’s forceful accents, whereby the lyrical second movement is a welcome intermezzo of calm.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.