Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – 3. Symphonie

Ernst Krenek
3. Symphonie

Opus: op. 16
Year of composition: 1922
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Instrumentation details:
2 2 2 3 - 2 1 0 0 - timp - str
Duration: 35′
Please check your input!

  • Krenek Ernst

  • 3. Symphonie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Audio Excerpt

3. Symphonie, op. 16

World Première

Location: /
Date: 1924
Conductor: Hermann Scherchen

Work Introduction

Soon after completing his monumental Symphony No. 2, the young Ernst Krenek began tackling Symphony No. 3. A third shorter, the piece is also considerably more streamlined in terms of orchestration. The music is more cheerful than driven – perhaps even capricious with all its unexpected changes of mood. Towards the end of the first movement, a popular-style melody makes a fleeting appearance, almost like a grimace. Elsewhere, the music suddenly takes on a dance-like feel, reminiscent of a ballet. The sky then darkens briefly and unexpectedly before the sun reappears. It is an unusual and original piece of music.

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.