Universal Edition - Ernst Krenek – 4. Symphonie

Ernst Krenek
4. Symphonie

Opus: op. 113
Year of composition: 1947
Scored for: for orchestra
Composer: Ernst Krenek
Instrumentation: 3 3 3 3 - 4 3 3 1 - timp, perc(2), pno, str
Instrumentation details:
1st flute
2nd flute
1st oboe
2nd oboe
cor anglais
clarinet in Eb (+bass cl(Bb))
1st clarinet in Bb
2nd clarinet in Bb
1st bassoon
2nd bassoon
1st horn in F
2nd horn in F
3rd horn in F
4th horn in F
1st trumpet in Bb
2nd trumpet in Bb
3rd trumpet in Bb
1st trombone
2nd trombone
3rd trombone
violin I
violin II
Duration: 42′
Please check your input!

  • Krenek Ernst

  • 4. Symphonie

  • (deliveryaddress if different)

  • What kind of material would you like to order?
    (Eg: piano reduction)
Request material on perusal Request performance material Licensing Request

Work Introduction

A quarter of a century after writing Symphony No. 3, Ernst Krenek, then living in America, returned to the genre, encouraged by a commission from Dimitri Mitropoulos. The conductor was a great admirer and promoter of Krenek’s music and was thrilled with Symphony No. 4. After receiving the score, he wrote: ‘I bless the moment I met you a thousand times over. It is my life’s purpose to dedicate myself and my admiration to your music. I will die a happy man if I can succeed in convincing audiences of your genius.’

Shipping costs

We are happy to offer the following shipping methods for your order:

Standard Post 1–3 working days EUR 3.00
Economy Airmail 6–10 working days EUR 9.95
World (i.e. outside Europe)*   
Economy Airmail 10–15 working days EUR 14.95
Standard Airmail 5–10 working days EUR 19.95

* While we send your music as quickly as possible (usually by the next day), we unfortunately do not have any influence on the time it takes your music to reach you. The further you are away from our warehouse in Germany, the longer your music will take to reach you. From experience, that can take a couple of weeks to the USA and three or even four to Asia and South America.